A Brief Look at What Was SUNNINGDALE LADIES GOLF CLUB

Sunningdale Ladies' was unique - it was steeped in
history, the list of Past Captains resembles a page from "Who's Who" with eminent names, wives of Lords and the Duchess of York, later The Queen Mother who was captain of the club in 1932 and the Patron for many years.

Her 100 birthday celebration was celebrated in grand style by past captains and committee members dressing in 1900's costume and parading on Horse Guards to the delight of onlookers.

HRH The Duke of York
Patron

Image result for HRH The Duke of York

The Early Years

Sunningdale was developed on land originally forming part of Windsor Forest. It was bought in 1524 by St John's College Cambridge who still own it today.

In those days Sunningdale had few houses, the area being mostly common land covered with gorse, heather and a few trees. The construction of the Woking to Staines Railway divided the land and thereafter parts were sold off for development.

In 1898 Mr.T.A. Roberts assisted by his brother constructed a house for himself called Ridgemount. Ridgemount was subsequently enlarged and was known as The Dormy House providing accommodation for members of Sunningdale Golf Club. (This was the origin of the term "Dormy House" to be found in close proximity to other golf clubs).
The founder of the Sunningdale Ladies’ Golf Club, Mr.Edward Ernest Villiers, a member of Sunningdale Golf Club, was approached by Mr.T.A. Roberts to form the Club possibly to ensure that the ladies would have a golf course of their own that would be independent of Sunningdale Golf Club.
Course Status
Currently open
21.11.2017 07:23
With the following restrictions: Preferred Lies
Calendar
Loading the Calendar...
Weather
  • 2017-11-21
  • 2017-11-22
  • 2017-11-23
  • 2017-11-24
  • 2017-11-25
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.